Meet the Organizers

This conference on global child and adolescent mental health is organized by Karolinska Institutet and UNICEF in close collaboration with partners around the world. The conference is led by a steering committee with the support of an international advisory committee and young advisors.

Conference Chair

Conference Chair:
Danuta Wasserman,
Karolinska Institutet, Sweden and World Psychiatric Association

Steering Committee

Birger Forsberg, Karolinska Institutet, Sweden
Jill Åhs,
Karolinska Institutet, Sweden
Joanna Lai, UNICEF Health Headquarters, USA
Liliana Carvajal, UNICEF Data Global/LAC, Panama

Scientific Program Committee

Scientific Chair:
Brandon Kohrt,
George Washington University, USA

International Advisory Committee

Mark Jordans,
War Child and University of Amsterdam
Sarah Thomsen, Swedish International Development Cooperation Agency (Sida)
Arun Kunwar, Child and Adolescent Mental Health South Asia Network (CAMHSAN)
Kelvin Lubeya Ngoma, Regional Psychosocial Support Initiatives (REPSSI)
Sara Holsbrink, Public Health Agency of Sweden
Peter Brune, Nordic MHPSS Actors’ Network
Fadia Al Buhairan, Arab Coalition for Adolescent Health and Medicine
Jonathan Klein, International Association for Adolescent Health, The International Pediatric Association
Giovanni Salum,
Child Mind Institute
Manasi Kumar,
New York University and University of Nairobi
Marie Dahl,
MHPSS Collaborative
Olusoji Victor Ladele,
UNICEF Office of Innovation
Alexandra Martins,
United Nations Office on Drugs and Crime
Matías Irarrázaval,
Pan American Health Organization (PAHO)

Youth and Young Professional Advisory Committee

Vinicius Gaby,
Omnia El Omrani, Egypt
Chad Rattray, Jamaica
Anjali Singla,
Mohammed Isa, Nigeria
Malvikha Manoj, UAE


Updated by:

Brighter Futures 2024 2024-01-04